Thank you, Abington THON, for Empowering the Dreamers!

As THON Chair, I constantly find myself crying. This sounds silly and although it is, it’s usually tears of joy! If you talk to me long enough about THON, there is a 30% chance of tear showers coming your way. I am so passionate about what I do and why I do it. But most importantly, all the people that surround me, support me and motivate me are why I do it! Today while driving, I realized wow…there are seriously 3 days until THON, and I put on my windshield wipers only to find the precipitation was from my eyes.

IMG_2196

Our Special Events Director exhausted after a long canning weekend!

The rest of the car ride I thought about all of the amazing times this year and how it went SO incredibly fast. I was crying because it was almost over and I never wanted it to end!!! I still don’t! But I was crying so many tears of joy because I realized the memories I was so happy about were because of my amazing peers who made it that way.

To my TRULY AMAZING Executive Board, I just wanted to say how proud I am of all of you. We have been through some rough past few months but they have been nothing short of incredible. Despite crappy canning weekends due to weather and losing members, I always had you guys to be my constant support and positivity. I have never seen any other group work as hard as you five. Katie, you have been the best Family Relations Chair and creating a bond with the Chapmans for life. Val, Stand Up For The Kids would not have been possible without you and I am so proud of what you did with it! Fabricio, yeah you’re my brother but thankfully we could separate family from THON and mend it together all it the same time; you inspired and connected with members more than I could have thought. Mary, you’re dancing in 3 days…and your dedication this year is nothing like I could have ever anticipated; getting out at 5AM for Dunkin is dedication if I’ve ever seen it. Irene, I would have drowned without you this year, I knew I could put my faith and trust into you for any project! Thank you all for your hard work and harder passion. Thank you for making this the best time of my life. And thank you for always keeping THON’s mission as your number one priority and always doing what it takes to Empower the Dreamers!

10672348_10201999924919462_3553595845686757753_n

Abington THON Executive Board after successfully pulling off our 12 hour dance marathon!

To the Student Government Association, Awele, Maria, JC and Dan THANK YOU GUYS SOOOO MUCH! THON would not be where we are without the generous donations from you guys. I could not have made it through this year without your constant support when things were good and when things were bad. Thank you for always believing in THON and what we can do!

10610805_10152639582867528_3532320693082541921_n

The SGA Executive Board has supported THON from the beginning to the end!

To all of our members…no words could ever truly show how much you all mean to me. Every single one of you holds a special place in my heart because you all spent some time not for me, but for the kids who need it. You took time out of your busy lives for the cause and I hope now you believe it as much as I do. This year you have all made me laugh and cry and made me so grateful to call you my Abington THON family. I wish we could do this year after year together! Be prepared to have your lives changed this weekend at THON. I cannot explain to you what this weekend will be like but I hope to only have prepared you enough for it. Although I want you to have fun, remember that this weekend is For The Kids. Dance with a kid and be a kid again for 46 hours. I am SO excited for you all. It’s like reading your favorite book, you wish you could experience it all over again for the first time. But the best part is you can read it over and over and over again and you remember why you love it. Thank you all for Empowering the Dreamers, what you have done will make a difference in the lives of thousands. And you have touched the hearts of millions. We Empower the Dreamers in 3 days!!!!

10380328_755967244479830_5452973355663741976_n

2015 Abington Benefiting THON members!

*THON Weekend takes place at Penn State University – University Park campus at the Bryce Jordan Center on February 20th-22nd 2015. To make a tax-deductible donation to Penn State Abington’s organization, please visit giveto.psu.edu/THON-Abington.

Leave a Reply

