About A Week Ago!…We Started This Constitution

10420043_10202601927959324_1303720322299646076_n

Working in Studio 338 with Jim Cannon on his first EP.

It’s been an incredibly busy fall semester at Abington!  So busy, in fact, that I haven’t posted here in two months!  Definitely slacking.  Between AbingTones, coursework, banquet serving, music production projects, running the school studio page, and planning a new organization on campus, I’ve had just enough wiggle room to hangout with friends and sleep.  That being said, I’m not complaining.  I’m incredibly stoked to be working on various production projects with some talented friends of mine.  I’m registered for the advanced studio course and the music business course in the spring semester and cannot WAIT to learn everything I can about producing and the industry.

To put the icing on the cake, the organization I’ve been planning (with a few friends) is going to revolutionize the way students interested in the music industry on campus will be able to pursue their interests.  We’ve been working on the constitution for about a week laying down some serious framework.  The goal is to establish an organization to bring professionals and artists in the industry to the students to give presentations, have workshops, Q&A, and provide tips from experience.  There will be three divisions/committees: songwriting, music production, and music business.  There will be guests for each division, events related to the music industry, and fundraisers.  It’ll be up and running by the beginning of the spring semester so there’s some time to get everything lined up but I can guarantee it’s gonna be something great.

10423732_10202601931159404_7030890568287730031_n

Tracking some vocals in Studio 338 with Jim!

In the meantime, I’m making the most out of the rest of this semester and very much looking forward to the holiday season and snowboarding A LOT!  Who knows, by the end of November we could already be having snow days.  I can’t say it would surprise me!

If the music industry organization sounds like something you’d want to be a part of and you want more information, message me through the Studio 338 page on Facebook, message me personally, text me, or email me at djl5428@psu.edu! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

