Hooktheory: Music Made Simple

     If you know me, you know I’ve had a knack for music for as long as pretty much anyone can remember.  Music makes sense to me- I can pick up a beat, hear if a note is wrong, figure out if two songs can be played together, and I can anticipate what notes or chords should come next in a song.  It wasn’t until high school that I realized there’s science behind music and that I could learn exactly why songs can be played together or why the next notes and chords can be predicted; unfortunately that was something I never had the time or patience to learn.  Serendipitously, I found the solution to that problem about half an hour ago.

Hooktheory Logo.

Hooktheory Logo.

     I was just browsing Facebook in my hour of free time before AbingTones and I came across a link to an amazing website called Hooktheory.  The purpose of the site is to educate people about music theory and music analysis in a way that doesn’t involve sitting in a classroom watching a teacher lecture about it for an hour.  It has a few different tools that help musicians (and anyone for that matter) write songs better by allowing them to choose chords and then showing which chords would typically come after the one they’ve chosen (This is called chord progression and if you don’t know what it is then Hooktheory is a great place to learn).  

     Another awesome feature is what they call “Trends”.  It allows you to choose individual chords in a progression and shows you a constantly updating list of popular (and not-so-popular) songs that use those chords.  Perfect for anyone like me who loves mash-ups!  

     Even if you’re not that into music, Hooktheory is still a cool site to check out and play around with to at least see why you think of “Breakaway” by Kelly Clarkson when you listen to “Die Young” by Ke$ha.  Bam, music.

Leave a Reply

