Doing Life Together!

Me and some of my friends from Penn State Abington

Me and some of my friends from Penn State Abington

Friendship is a beautiful thing.  I don’t have to tell you that finding true friends is often a lifelong event – sometimes you find them, sometimes you don’t.  So it is an incredible gift when you find those that are supportive of your weirdness, those that are genuinely interested in your wellbeing and those that will walk alongside you – through good and bad times.

I have been incredibly blessed to find some truly amazing friends in my life.   I may not see them every day.  I may not even see them every month.  But when I do see them, they fill my love tank right on up.  They inspire me, challenge my thinking, teach respect and liven up the giggles in my life.  Those we have read my older posts know that “my angels” live in the Netherlands. They are my best friends, my soulmates, BUT I have been incredibly lucky in the United States too. Being involved with the  International Cultural Alliance-club at Penn State Abington was amazing in a lot of aspects but there is one thing in specific I am the most grateful for: FRIENDSHIPS.

A couple weeks ago was my birthday and I spent it in New York City. My sisters made me come to Philadelphia and drove me to a restaurant where we were going to have dinner. Me, not being aware of anything,  walked into the restaurant. The restaurant was a really nice Italian restaurant with live music. The walls were decorated with flags from countries that played in the World Cup and I was counting how many flags I could recognize… Till my eyes caught a table with 15 people covering their faces with the menus. My friends had planned a Birthday Party for me!! Surprise Surprise!!! I could have never guessed it and they made me the happiest person right there and then!

Being surrounded fake people, I had times where I believed I only had true friends in the Netherlands, but right there and then these wonderful people showed up in my life and proved me wrong. Especially Ana Marta, who is my Big Baby, has been an amazing friend for me. Without even realizing, we had formed a very special friendship with her and I will always cherish it. She, and many others from ICA, have now been added to my “Keepers” list :))

Tomorrow I am moving to University Park and I am honestly having mixed feelings about it. I am excited, worried, sad, and happy at the same time. I am totally ready for a change and I am excited about meeting new people but I also know that I am going to miss my friends from Abington. A further post about my moving is following very soon…

I have added some pictures from my birthday weekend below and for everyone that is suffering from the fake-friends disease: Get rid of the rotten apples and don’t let them spoil the bunch!

 

Best picture of the night!

Best picture of the night!

Alina, My Big Baby Ana Marta, Me

Alina, My Big Baby Ana Marta, Me

A birthday is not a birthday without a selfie!!

A birthday is not a birthday without a selfie!!

Me and one of my best friends Yezdan

Me and one of my best friends Yezdan

Alex taking a picture of us

Alex taking a picture of us

Leave a Reply

