Darkness to Light

darknesstolightimageHey Penn Staters!  I recently took part in the first Darkness to Light child sexual abuse training sponsored by the Academic Environment Committee.  I really appreciate the opportunity to take part in such an important training not only because I plan to work with adolescents but also because I feel it’s my responsibility to speak up for those who may not have a voice.  It was amazing to have classmates and student leaders such as fellow bloggers Ciara and Stacey involved as well!  I really hope that our attendance and encouragement of the training helps to encourage other students to attend as well.

I hope the Darkness to Light trainings help our campus community and in turn any children we may come into contact with.  This is a great way to learn to recognize possible signs of child sexual abuse and what to do if you suspect abuse.  In addition to the remaining trainings I look forward to collecting teddy bear donations around campus for the little ones and our upcoming Child Sexual Abuse Awareness Event during No Place for Hate Week in February!  We’re encouraging the campus community to donate cuddly teddy bears to be given to the Philadelphia Children’s Alliance- what better way to help?!  I look forward to my next blog about upcoming events and No Place for Hate Week!

Remember, We Are…!

Leave a Reply

