What am I doing now (since graduation)?

Valerie Tkach,  a Penn State Abington aluma and former blogger, sends in this contribution to the blog –

graduation 2You’re all probably wondering who this strange girl is taking over your favorite Penn State blog, but trust me, I’m no stranger. I graduated from Penn State Abington eight months ago. Eight!!! I can’t believe time has flown by as quickly as it did. I mean a part of me still feels like I’m just on break and that my classes will start up any day now. But no, I just wake up every morning and go to work like an adult, which truthfully I don’t feel like I am.

So what is this ‘work’ that I do? Well, it’s safe to say that I probably have the best job in the world. At least I like to think so. I work as a marketing assistant for Spring Mill Manor and Country Club in Ivyland, PA. If you don’t know, Spring Mill Manor and Country Club is a venue where you can have a party, a wedding, bar/bat mitzvah, baby shower, I mean any event you want to have, you can have it there.

My job is to market the venue for weddings, specifically. I write a wedding blog, update their Facebook, Twitter, and pin on Pinterest. I essentially get paid to do things that I would normally get fired for doing at another job. And I love every minute of it. I’m constantly early to work and truthfully I don’t want to leave at the end of the day. I truly enjoy what I do, and I am so thankful for having found this job.

My time at Penn State Abington has taught me a lot, and even though I am still constantly learning new things, I can honestly say that Abington gave me the basic knowledge that is helping me grow. My involvement in different clubs and organizations taught me so much, almost all of which I am using in my work life.

Ok, so I’m going to stop myself here before I go on a rant about how amazing Penn State Abington is. Because it truly is an amazing school. If I could just give you one piece of advice for college, it’s to cherish every moment because it will all go by so fast that you will look back and wish you didn’t take things for granted. Trust me, I’m a college graduate ;).

Leave a Reply

