Perks of Being A College Student

With just a few days left until graduation, it is finally hitting me the things that I will miss most about being a college student. Believe me I’m definitely ready to graduate, I don’t have that fear to go on to the next chapter in my life, like a lot of other graduates do but that’s not to say that there aren’t a lot of things that I’m going to wish were a part of my life still.

I’m definitely going to miss being a peer assistant for the FYE program. I have done it for 3 years, and it has been one of my favorite things. I was able to makes first year student’s transition a little easier and hopefully inspire them to get involved. Pat Clayton does such an awesome job with this program, and I hope she continues it for a long time.

I also will miss writing for this blog. I love sharing what is going on with all of you. I love talking about Student Life and I hope you guys were able to see if from all angles, the stress, the fun, and the good that comes out of it. I’m hoping that through my time here I’ll be able to stay connected with everything that Abington offers because I would miss it too much, and I hope you all chose to get involved in it in some way or another.

The thing that I will miss the absolute most is my involvement in THON. I obviously will be involved but I won’t get to be a part of it every single day. THON has become the biggest part of my life here and my greatest moments have been because of it. I love everything about it. I love knowing that I helped to make a difference in so many people’s lives and I hope anyone who becomes a part of this organization knows how lucky they are to be a part of such an amazing thing. For those of you involved, never forget this is about the kids, not you or your friends, but making a difference in a child’s life that needs it! I will forever & always be FTK and I’m so glad for every second that I’ve given to this organization.

Through my involvement on campus I was able to make the best friends anyone could ask for. I will miss all the hours spent on campus with them because it has resulted in some of the best memories. I’m lucky enough to have my two best friends (Becca and Brandon)  graduating with me and although I’m excited for it, it’s going to be sad knowing that our time at Penn State Abington together is done. We have been through a lot together and it’s bittersweet to all be graduating together. I literally would not have made it through these years without them. Sometimes I wish we could all stay here forever but I know the two of them are going to go on to do AMAZING things for people and I hope I’m able to do the same.

It’s still so weird that I’m done college and just waiting around to graduate. Not having any more schoolwork or finals to worry about has definitely made me reflect on what I’m going to miss. I hope everyone else is surviving finals week because although it’s stressful you’re time in college is limited and you should make the most of it.

I put together a slideshow of some of my favorite pictures from college.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

