The Perks of Being a Wallflower

One of my absolute favorite books is “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and this year they finally released the movie for it. The movie stayed so true to the book that while watching it, I found myself crying just for the fact that it was so perfect. It really is an amazing story and if you’re looking for something to read, pick it up.  Some of my all-time favorite quotes come from the book such as, “We accept the love we think we deserve” and “So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

I think both of these quotes are very relatable for many people, as is the whole book itself.  In the book, the first quote is referring to “life partner” relationships, but I think it could apply to friendships too.  I hate when I witness a one-sided friendship, where it’s not an even give & take.  People should step back more often and realize who is really there for them and appreciate them.  You should be thankful for the people in your life who are there for you no matter what; don’t take advantage of them. If you’re the person accepting the “love you think you deserve,” then realize that you deserve better.

The second quote is one that can be relatable on both small and large scales.  For me, I could relate it to my feelings on graduation, but for someone else it could be so much deeper than that. And I think for a lot of people it is.  You never know what someone is going through and just because they appear happy doesn’t mean that everything is going good for them.  Don’t judge a book by its cover, come on… I know you’ve heard that one before and it’s so true.

This book has so many memorable quotes that I would love to list here, but I’d rather you go out and get the book!

Leave a Reply

