Things are changing..

Graduating in December means that slowly things at Abington will be changing for me.  Yesterday, I passed the torch to the new Abington THON Morale Captain and although it might not seem like a big deal, it’s actually kind of upsetting.  I have been on the Abington THON executive board for three years, and for two of those I was the Morale Captain.  I absolutely loved this position and letting go of it is hard.  I have grown so much as a person and a leader because of it and  I have had some incredible experiences because of it.  This past year alone I had the honor of creating the first Abington line dance (with the help of the rest of the board) for the first 24 For The Cure.  It was so much fun creating the lines and the moves, and getting to teach it at the event was a feeling hard to describe. Although it was a small event, it was still a very proud moment.  Another from this year is the first THON color wars, and co-running THON Suspect with Jill.  These two things really had people involved and excited, and I hope they continue throughout the years.

Although, I am very proud of all of these things, my favorite was probably being in charge of kids mail.  For those of you who don’t know, kids mail is made up of cards and letters that the THON children get during THON weekend to let them know we are there for them and  love them.  This year, I myself made over 100 of the pieces  that Abington handed in but I am most proud of the 1,000 pieces handed in for THON 2011, made by everyone in Abington THON.

THON is something very near and dear to my heart and I am excited to see what the new executive board will do.  I am happy I will still be here in December to help out all I can, and of course I will join Abington in the stands at the BJC in February cheering on whoever our dancers may be.  To the entire new board, congrats & good luck, I know you will do great things and continue to make Abington proud of the incredible organization we all love so much.

Forever& Always FTK 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

