Courage to win this fight, strength both day & night!

Abington's THON child Gab Chapman when she was going through treatment. She is now 5 years cancer free!!

THON weekend is here (well… this weekend) and I could not be any more excited!! I have never been more ready to do something in my life.  Being a THON 2012 dancer for Abington is such an honor and I am going to do my best to make Abington proud during the 46-hour dance marathon.  Dancing this time around as opposed to in 2010 means something totally different to me.  I have experienced first hand what it is like to have someone close to you go through hearing that they have cancer, and having treatments done.  Things have not been easy, but I know that they will come out of this stronger than ever. Knowing that someone important to me, and all of the THON children can fight this awful thing is the one motivator I need during THON to get me through it.

I can’t even explain the feelings I have when I think about the weekend and everything I am going to experience.  Thinking about meeting different kids, hearing new family stories and seeing the THON 2012 total sends chills down my spine.  I also cannot wait to see how much Abington has risen for the kids.  We have been working so hard since October to make this the best year yet by having new events and getting as many donations as possible.  I am so proud of everyone involved and it makes me smile to see so many people want to help THON and the Four Diamonds Fund.

“Together we can make the difference in the life of a child.”

Leave a Reply

