Let me hear it PSU, FTK

In one week I will be standing for 46 hours for the kids, for the second time in my life.  When I first had this experience I was not sure what to expect.  It was an emotional rollercoaster for me, filled with many laughs and tears, sometimes for no real reason.  I remember going into the weekend I wanted to get the most out of it, take everything in, remember every little thing and for the most part I did.  This time around, I am going into the weekend with a slightly different mindset.  I want to focus more on other people, making them have an amazing weekend and memories to last a lifetime.  THON is all about the kids. Everything we do, every second we spend thinking of ways to raise money, it is all for the kids.  Being morale captain for Abington THON, I have spent the year making and getting other people to make tons of mail to give the kids during THON weekend.  They have a special time where all the THON children get cards from all of the different organizations hoping to put a smile on their faces.

Jill Mensch at THON last year with a THON child.

Well, just because mail call is over does not mean I’m going to stop doing things to make it the best weekend ever for every kid I see.  I want to spend my weekend getting to know more kids, having water gun fights with them and helping them feel like a kid again, because that is what the weekend is about.

If you’re not able to go to THON weekend, they broadcast it live, and it is something that you should definitely check out.  Every single person who is connected to Penn State should feel so much pride in the university during THON weekend.  Thousands of students come together for an amazing cause and it is something you have to see to believe.  There is nothing more inspiring than Sunday afternoon during THON when the Bryce Jordan Center is filled. During that time families tell their stories and we are reminded why we THON.  It is one of the most emotional times during the weekend but also one of my favorite parts.

Leave a Reply

