“Back to school, Back to school…

…to prove to dad I’m not a fool.” Can you guess the movie?! 🙂

I guess getting emails from professors is the first sign. It’s that time again–classes are starting soon. I’m feeling a little bittersweet about starting the semester. I am not a hundred percent ready for the stress of classes but I’m more than ready for all of the other stuff that this semester is going to bring.

Being involved on campus gives going back to school something extra. For people who are involved it isn’t just about starting classes– it is about seeing your second family, starting meetings again and planning events and I’m certainly ready to get back to that. There is nothing like watching goals get accomplished within your club, seeing new members start to grow into strong leaders, and witnessing the looks on your members faces as they experience something truly incredible for the first time.

With just 42 days ‘til THON Weekend, a 46 hour no sitting, no sleeping dance marathon in State College, I have been pretty busy over break. I guess I really couldn’t call it a break at all. THON Weekend is unlike any other event in the world, definitely an experience that can’t be put into words. Working all year to help kids fight cancer and then seeing the smiles on their faces THON Weekend is one of the most rewarding feelings. This weekend they finally have the chance to be a kid again and it is all because of Penn State students. It really makes me proud to belong to such an amazing university. I mean what other school can say that they raised more than $78 million FOR THE KIDS since 1973? And $9,563,016.09 in just one year! Knowing that the event that I countdown all year for is so close makes it a lot more exciting to start the semester.

Spring semesters are always my favorite. It goes by so quickly because there is so much to look forward to. It looks like it’s gearing up to be an exciting semester, with a lot of great events! I know I’m excited for a lot in the next couple of months so what are you excited for?

Leave a Reply

