Anything is possible.

I know exactly what you’re thinking: “Oh yeah sure, Brian, that makes a lot of sense, anything is possible, huh?” Well, I’m not saying that I have solved the world’s problems. However, I will say a few things about positioning yourself in a good spot and surrounding yourself with good people; it will certainly increase your chances of being successful or achieving what you would like in your life.

Anything is possible. What am I talking about? Well, after this past week I am a firm believer that if you work hard, treat others with respect and take advantage of opportunities that come your way, anyone can be successful. For me, this week offered a terrific opportunity. I have been actively perusing a career in higher education. Throughout my academic career, I have taken advantage of opportunities that have came along, and more importantly, I’ve enjoyed every moment of it (the good and the bad). Finally, or at least in a realistic view for me…the work seems to have paid off. I’ll be working as an intern in New York with a great and successful company called 2tor. The company works very closely with some of the top college institutions on integrating academic programs online. Almost a week after my first phone interview (which happened to be my first phone interview in my life), I was hired. To say the least, I was shocked and beyond excited!

View off of the Chelsea Pier's in Manhattan

So now I’m sure you are thinking, “Well, why should I care about that?” While I understand that you may not be as excited about this as I am, I want you to focus on the importance of my message: anything is possible. If you set your mind to an idea or a goal, it is possible. Sure, I watch the news everyday and come across stories of how the economy is dwindling and how the unemployment rate is steadily rising. Sure, I’m nervous about what the future will bring and how I will be able to provide for my family one day. However, in my opinion, is it better to live your life in fear of what tomorrow might bring? No. Tomorrow is a new day and with each day brings great opportunities. My final thoughts: Jobs are out there, possibilities are out there. Position yourself in the right place and great things will happen.

I’ll keep you all posted on my progress at 2tor as well as my first Council Weekend as Campus Chair up at University Park. Enjoy the day and thanks for coming by!

Brian


Leave a Reply

