An End To a New Beginning

Wow. That was probably the first word that came to mind when I thought about my younger brother and sister graduating. The idea of graduating for both of them would most likely be categorized as refreshing that high school is over, scared that college will begin, and anxious to begin a new chapter in their life. However, maybe these two characters (I say that with a funny smirk) can provide an interesting story to relate to or just laugh at.

“Don’t you think they’ll miss each other?” my mother asked me the other morning. Immediate answer in my head: Not A Chance. Sure, they might miss not waking up under the same roof and meeting up throughout the day, but the reality is that, while they are twins and were born on the same day, that is about the only thing they have in common. Not to say that’s a bad thing, but they have just grown into their own and have become successful on their own terms. However, despite their differences, they are approaching the same chapter in their lives, college. I truly believe they both are nervous for what lies ahead, but who wasn’t a little scared before entering their freshman year of college? I certainly was. The factor that allowed me to get acclimated to college quickly was playing soccer. I have to believe, or at least I hope, that they will take advantage of the opportunities that they come across during their academic career, and also simply enjoy it, because time certainly flies by.

Overall, I am extremely proud of them, and look forward to seeing my brother and sister grow through their college experiences. My advice for them or anyone else that will like to listen: No matter where you go or what you do, get involved. No matter if you are attending a commuter college or a four year residential university, get involved in something outside of the classroom. Join a club, play a sport, do something. And maybe others can relate to this within the work force: get involved. Anyone can just do their job and go home, but can you go the extra mile, can you attend a volunteer event, can you step out of your comfort zone? Maybe it won’t mean a raise in your salary, but I can guarantee that you will feel personally rewarded if you challenge yourself. And that is my story and I am sticking to it! Thanks again for stopping by, and enjoy the rest of the evening!

Leave a Reply

