Bittersweet

A word that is frequently used to describe a wide range of topics or events that also entail mixed emotions during the course of someone’s life. Of course, this is not taken from dictionary.com, but, I think the definition fits. Bittersweet could easily sum up my life, and maybe yours as well, however, it would certainly describe my feelings on attending my sister’s final dance recital. My sister (Laura, 18 years old) has been dancing for 15 years (yes, that means 15 years of dance recitals, competitions, etc.) and tonight is her final show. The feeling is strange, to say the least. It seems that she has grown up in a blink of an eye, and I believe she is starting to realize it as well. “I’m not going to cry,” she says in her lifeless, monotone voice, when I ask her how she feels…typical. She’s tough, both mentally and emotionally, but, I think tonight might change that. Growing up is tough, everyone can relate to that. She’ll be going away to college in the fall, and I think that she will start to realize that she will never get these moments in her life back, and its okay to cry, or at least embrace the moment.

My prediction? She’ll hold back at first, but I’m sure when she sees all of us, both friends and family, admiring how far she has come, and how proud we are, she’ll give in.

My advice of the day for her and the rest of you: Live in the moment, don’t take things for granted, and sometimes, it’s okay to cry! Well that about does it for today, I’ll be back tomorrow to report on my prediction and how things went. Have a great day, and thanks for stopping by!

Brian

Leave a Reply

